Before Hong Kong: Jane’s Top 5 Picks

Since I lived in Hong Kong when I was young and last visited four years ago with my family, my picks are a combination of favourites from childhood memories and new places I want to explore with Darren. I speak Cantonese, so Hong Kong should be easy to navigate, right?

5. Food, Malls and Markets


When I think about the Hong Kong attraction essentials, these three come to mind. The basic musts of visiting HK are eat, shop, and more shopping. It’s gonna be fun watching Darren navigate the insanely busy street markets, especially the pedestrian-only ones lined with endless stalls like Tung Choi Street, Sai Yeung Choi Street, and Fa Yuen Street. Just like for Tokyo, I’ve been Instagram-researching the food. I’m not leaving until I get sick of street food — or from, whichever comes first. AND, I’m dying to see Darren’s face as he bites into a pork bun at Tim Ho Wan at IFC. Oh, and I may have a surprise lined up, too.


4. Tsim Sha Tsui/Victoria Harbour

Hong Kong Arts Centre 香港文化藝術中心

A post shared by jane (@janeccman) on


I basically grew up in Tsim Sha Tsui. There is a photo from when I was young of me leaning up against the Hong Kong Cultural Centre. That image reminds me of a very happy childhood that I want to cling on to. The Symphony of Lights show will be a fun, romantic activity. I also hope there’s some sort of art or promotional installation at Harbour City while we’re there. It’s just too bad the Avenue of Stars is under construction so we won’t get to walk along the water.


3. Victoria Peak

Walking for this view 🌃 #skyline #victoriapeak #hongkong #breathtaking #sundayworkout #lovelife 🇭🇰❤️

A post shared by Natalia Albińska (@natalialbinska) on


The last time I visited with my parents in 2012, it was a hilariously foggy day. We couldn’t see 10 feet in front of us. My dad made the great suggestion this time of us visiting late afternoon (on a good day) to see the dayview, having dinner at the Peak, then doing another lap for the nightview. It’s going to be romantic as hell. Is it bad I want to eat at Bubba Gump while we’re up top? (I’m serious.)


2. Tamar Park

New noon-peace corner. 🐥 #hk #tamarpark

A post shared by Silly Li (@sissiliiii) on


What is this sorcery of a place? It’s a gigantic park with futuristic buildings, situated right at the habour on the Hong Kong Island side, with a clear view of the high-rise office buildings in Central and this new(?) ferris wheel that is a rip-off of the London Eye. Across the water is a perfect view of the Hong Kong Cultural Centre at Victoria Harbour. Basically, I want to have a picnic here everyday.


1. Lantau Island


Supposedly, I have been to see to Lantau Island to see the Tian Tian Buddha before. My grandma and my mother both tell me they took me, but I have no recollection of this. You’d think I’d remember a 112-feet tall buddha statue? In any case, I’m super stoked to ride the terrifying Ngong Ping 360 cable car, see the Po Lin Monastery and walk the Widsom Path. How long do you think it’ll take us to climb the 268 steps to the Buddha?

Two more sleeps. This is getting real! Is one medium-sized checked luggage really enough? Hm. If anyone has tips on HK restaurants or the best data plan, shoot us a note!

– Jane

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I visited Hong Kong about 2 years ago when my brother was living there and it was quite the experience, especially as a European. I’d been to China before so it wasn’t a complete culture shock but it was very interesting. I was desperate to see the Big Buddha but it was raining so heavily on all days that it wasn’t possible. Even Victoria Peak was covered in fog haha, we couldn’t see anything. Ah well, all the more reason for me to go back sometime, right? Great blog by the way, I really enjoyed reading your posts.

    We’re currently looking for some great travel content on Creators. Would you be interested in sharing your thoughts, opinions and tips on the platform? I’d love to hear from you! Feel free to shoot me an e-mail so I can expand on that. You can find my contact details on my blog. Hopefully talk soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

